Heart-Fall

 

 

I say some words, already regretting the sounds

My heart rises, guarded, at the chance of a smile

Boredom and irritation are the reply

Barely hidden in absent glances of disinterest

 

I know the words were not heard

The response automatic, disconnected

Intention doesn’t make it any easier

Or make the heart-fall ache any less

 

So many other places I could be

But my heart is tied to this time and place

Her screens soft light shows her distant smile

So I smile sadly and stay a little while longer

 

 

Leave a Reply

