Companion

sorrow

Sorrow is my companion

As a shadow he follows me

Pushing the past into the front

Demanding that I finally see

 

Acceptingly, I turn my attention

Call this exiled part of me home

Sitting together in silence

You will never again be alone

 

Finally, knowing you are welcome

I am sorry to have pushed you aside

Disowned you when all that you wanted

Was to acknowledge and let go my pride

 

Healing with love and attention

You soften your hold on the pain

Knowing you were always a part of me

Two become whole once again

 

 

Leave a Reply

