Over The Wall

 

They say I arrived; born

I do not; cannot remember

They say it was in December

 

The first stones were laid

I was taught yes and no

What to say, and it was so

 

School taught me the rules

Do this, not that, they said

So the foundation was laid

 

Safety within the wall

Where we are all the same

Far too young to blame

 

My culture, my people

Be the same, always fit in

If we agree there is no sin

 

Stone set upon stone

You and me, us and them

Keep them out, and us in

 

Now I cannot truly see

Things you wanted for me

And I am not free

 

My heart aches

I stop

I cannot see

Beyond the wall

Blindly I climb

 

Not knowing

Where I am bound

Yet I must search

And lost or found

I will see

 

All of what I was denied

What a world denies

If my life, I must give

To know the truth

Then I offer this alone

 

All that I truly have.

Leave a Reply

