In A Dream

trapped_in_a_dream_by_kipkent-d35re5u

deviantart.net

I once had a dream

I wore my favorite flannel shirt

In a mall store

People all around

 

I talked, to someone

Asking for help

The details fail me

But they were confused

 

In a mirror, I saw

Myself, yet I was

Other than I am

Bent, but still someone

 

A stranger ignored

Disabled and twisted

Words that I spoke

Others could not hear

 

So clear I tried

To tell my side

But ears never heard

Any of my words.

 

Note:

 

In this world, I work with and support, Vulnerable Adults, those with MR, Cognitive disabilities, Developmental defects, Mental Illness, and TBI, (Traumatic Brain Injury,) and so it has become a large part of who I am. I have learned more from my friends than from the mainstream world. I smile more, laugh more, and take life a little less seriously…simply happy to be here.
Leave a Reply

